Technical Note 1:

Logohautpage50.png

Solar Panel Faults

and Reduced Lifespan of solar installations.

 

 

Operational faults in PV (photovoltaic) arrays have always been one of the critical factors affecting the PV system’s power-generation efficiency and life cycle duration. Solar panel reliability and durability in terms of performance can vary as a function of materials, manufacture, design, transport and installation. In turn, power production levels can vary as a function of solar irradiation levels; temperature; spectral response of panels; light conditions including incidence angle; Light Induced Degradation; and various extremes of weather, climate, and soiling.

 

Nonetheless, the 'traditional wisdom' across the solar industry today is that solar panels should be wired in series in what is termed String Series, especially for those housed within large-scale Solar Energy Facilities (SEF’s). Several strings can in turn be connected in series via a Combiner Box and several combiner Boxes again in series to one or more Central Inverter(s). Therein, when panel faults occur all panels within a given String Series fall-back to the lowest common denominator, i.e. the panel with the lowest level of power production. Because such faults go undetected over lengthy periods, they often only detected as a result of what are termed ‘catastrophic failures’, i.e. once function ceases all together. Earlier detection strategies would allow for failing performance to be detected and / or predicted possibly many years in advances of such problems. In the severest cases, the latter can result in fire and shutdown of an entire solar plant comprised of many tens or hundreds of thousands of solar panels.

In large-scale SEF's, the 'traditional wisdom' states that economies of scale can afford the overall system losses that go undetected or impact only slightly the overall performance of one or a few solar panels in amongst hundreds and sometimes thousands and hundreds of thousands of 'String Series' of solar panels. An individual String Series can vary from 4 to 72 panels and occasionally more, but occur most frequently as Strings of 12, 20, 24 or 36 solar panels. In turn, multiple strings can be combined in a String Connector / String Combiner box to the extent that it is not uncommon for a few to several hundred solar panels to be interconnected in series; and this along with commonly 60, 72 or 90 solar cells per module again connected in series. Even with improving levels of solar module performance, this constitutes considerable potential for fault occurrence over two or three decades.

 

 

The actual location of faults or impending faults with respect to a particular solar panel in these agglomerations remains a major technical challenge. The difficulty of accurately locating solar panels with faults or impending faults is further exacerbated when multiple faults occur in parallel within the same series or within the same large-scale SEF’s. As the size of the latter increases, the likelihood of a co-occurrence of a multiplicity of under-performing solar panels increases dramatically, i.e. it approaches a probability of occurrence = 1. This multiplicity of faults currently defies all methods of detection and location within large-scale SEF’s.

The contrary scenario is the major negative impact caused by the loss of optimal functionality provoked by one or two panels in a small domestic rooftop setting of perhaps ten panels, for example, whereby underperformance to the tune 10% or 20% of system performance can result, i.e. if panels are linked in series. Thus, to date, micro-inverters have been deployed mostly in domestic roof-top settings and some larger industrial roofs and carpark shading systems. Micro-inverters are mounted in parallel and work to maintain maximal performance of individual solar panels independently of all other.

Lost performance in one or two panels and therefore one or two String Series in amongst hundreds or thousands of solar panel strings is currently perceived as not warranting the additional expense of wiring solar panels in parallel so as to monitor panel performance individually by the use of micro-inverters. This industry view has not changed since the inception of large-scale SEF’s over several decades. However, one should ask in the Age of the “Internet of Things” why this view should remain constant in the case of large-scale SEF’s and not be better attuned with higher-resolution continuous systems monitoring that increasingly dominate other industrial sectors so as to ensure predicted levels of power production, longer term systems durability and low levels of investor uncertainty.

In the case of SEF’s, financiers, asset owners and developers continue to assume that solar panels will last for 25-30 years and thus they decide NOT to underwrite the additional cost of micro-inverter installation at outset, which from time to time can act to their detriment (See following text).

‘In systems engineering across all industrial sectors, until a phenomenon is measured over time, efficiencies in terms of economy, production and quality of output cannot be delivered with confidence’.

In addition to factors giving rise to differential settlement in Solar Covered Landfill (see LanneSolaire Technical note 2), here the issues surrounding individual solar panel and solar cell reliability and durability shall be examined, namely, a long list of causes that impact negatively solar energy production of SEF’s. To these must be added cabling and central inverter malfunction. Central inverter faults can be at the base of major system shutdown and significant losses in power production until repaired by a technician or replaced. In large-scale and domestic SEF’s, inverter failure is by far the most commonly-recorded fault type. In addition, central inverters must be replaced regularly (every 5-10 years) at high cost relative to other operations and maintenance expenses during systems lifespans. These expenses at SEF installation and the replacement costs of one or more central inverters is obviated all together by more generalised deployment of micro-inverters at SEF installation. Here, the issues surrounding transformers, charge controllers or overall PV-array availability shall not be addressed.

PV arrays perform below optimum output power levels due to faults in modules, wiring, inverter, and so forth. Today, most of these faults remain undetected for extended periods and result in power production losses. Technicians need to be sent into the field to locate and repair faults within a SEF ‘String Series’. The need to make time consuming field measurements within one or more ‘String Series’ can delay fault rectification. Today, most module-related and other fault types are detected, at best, belatedly. It is noteworthy that: “Systems durability is the product of its reliability over lifetime and is key to investment returns”. PV array faults left unrectified (noncleared) not only cause losses in power production, but also may lead to safety issues and fire hazards of varying proportions.

figure 1: Cascading failures of a PV module

In extreme cases, excessive heat production  can provoke fire in a domestic, industrial or large-scale SEF.  These fires can be prevented through by the introduction of an « automatic shutdown » capacity incorporated at the level of individual solar panels and not as at the level of string or central converters, which shutdown after a catastrophic fault in the form of fire. The former is a statutory obligation in domestic settings in the USA, but not yet in France or Europe, for example.

Figures 4: Fires associated with overheating of PV modules in domestic and industrial contexts

Historically, financiers, asset owners and solar developers have been content to assume solar panel longevity as a given at 25 to 30 years. A major caveat here is the lack of a significant body of evidence as to longevity of solar modules in the field to the extent of 20-30 years of durability. This is also underlined by the impossibility of obtaining such data for technologies developed since the year 2000, yet currently placed in large-scale SEF’s. This view of an assumed reality is reflected in what is termed the ‘bathtub curve’. In the first 1-3 years following installations defects become rapidly evident as reliability issues related to catastrophic failure and thereafter a steady rate of degradation-related failure issues prior to end-of-life module wear-out. In all cases, these faults must engender ‘Catastrophic Faults’ to be detected rapidly within ‘String Series’. Other electrical faults responsible for lower levels of power production may remain ‘uncleared’ or undetected over extended periods.

figure 3: Evolution of the failure rate over time

Until very recently, the best available data for field-based module failure is summarized in the following figure (After: TamizhMani, G.S. & Kuitche, J. 2013, Accelerated Lifetime Testing of Photovoltaic Modules, pp 1 - 106. Solar America Board for Codes and Standards) and based on datasets available in 2011.

Figure 4 : Reliability (failures) and durability (degradative) issues of photovoltaic modules
(FF = Field Faults)

 

 

Revelations from 2020: The abovementioned historical wisdom / industry view may start to be brought into question by recent revelations. The chemical company, Dupont, published in 2020 their findings on some 551 different SEF’s and 53 different solar module manufacturers (cf. Dupont global PV reliability – 2020 field analysis). Much to the surprise of industry specialists, faults were detected in 30% of nine million solar panels inspected during this study. This figure corresponded to serious “backsheet” faults in 16% of cases and cell-to-cell connection faults in the remaining 14% of cases. Some affected asset owners were reported to be in ‘panic mode’ today, if indeed their own SEF’s were affected. Furthermore, “backsheet” defects were heavily influenced by their chemical composition. In the case of PVDF (Polyvinylidene fluoride), “backsheet” cracking defects were observed in 23% of solar modules after just nine years in the field, while PET (Polyethylene terephthalate ) performed still worse with some 90% of modules presenting cracking defects after 15 years – all well in advanced of the assumed lifespan of 25-30 years for module reliability. These defects result chronologically from “backsheet” failure (Outer air-side layer) giving rise to 1) moisture ingress; 2) cracking, delamination and yellowing; 3) corrosion, ‘Hot Spots’, ‘Snail trails’, burn marks, short circuits; and finally, 4) Inverter tripping, PV array ‘shutdown’ (Zero power production) due to advanced catastrophic fault and safety risks, including fire.

Thus, more high-resolution continuous systems monitoring of SEF’s may be seen in a more positive and cost-effective light than previously, i.e. so as to detect and / or predict such occurrences much earlier, while concomitantly having faulty solar modules replaced at the manufacturer’s expense under warranty.
 

The following Table is an attempt to capture the origins and underlying causes of the most frequently encountered solar module faults and SEF under-performance - Table : Solar Panel Faults,  Inverter faults, SEF underperformance. 

Further details pertaining to PV array faults and an introduction to existing fault detection strategies can be found in the following references:

 

TamizhMani, G.S. & Kuitche, J. 2013, ​ Accelerated Lifetime Testing of Photovoltaic Modules ​ , pp 1 - 106. Solar America Board for Codes and Standards

Alam, A., Johnson, J., Khan, F. & Flicker, J. 2015. A Comprehensive Review of Catastrophic Faults in PV Arrays: Types, Detection, and Mitigation Techniques. IEEE J. Photovoltaics, doi: 10.1109/JPHOTOV.2015.2397599

Arani, M.S. & Hejazi, M.A. 2016. The Comprehensive Study of Electrical Faults in PV Arrays. J. Electric. Computer Eng. Pp. 1-10, doi : 10.1155./2016/8712960.

Extra reading :

Bloomberg Tier-1 Solar Panels List: 8 Points of critical failure. (review.solar)

Note technique 1 :

Logohautpage50.png

Vulnérabilité des Modules Photovoltaïques

&  pannes dans les Centrales Solaires Photovoltaïques

   Les pannes opérationnelles dans les centrales PV (photovoltaïques) ont toujours été l’un des facteurs critiques affectant l’efficacité de la production d’électricité et la durée de vie d’une installation PV. La fiabilité et la durabilité des panneaux PV (ou module PV) en termes de performances peuvent varier en fonction des matériaux, de la fabrication, de la conception, du transport et de l'installation. Les niveaux de production d'énergie peuvent varier à leur tour en fonction des niveaux d'irradiation solaire, de la température, de la réponse spectrale des panneaux, des conditions d'éclairage y compris l'angle d'incidence, de la dégradation induite par la lumière, de conditions extrêmes de temps, du climat et des salissures.

 Néanmoins aujourd’hui dans l’industrie solaire, la « conception traditionnelle » veut que les panneaux soient câblés en série dans ce que l’on appelle une « String Series » ou « chaîne PV en série», en particulier pour ceux qui constituent les centrales d'énergie PV de grande envergure. Plusieurs chaînes peuvent à leur tour être connectées en série via un Boîtier de Combinaison (Conbiner Box) et plusieurs Boîtiers de Combinaison connectés à nouveau en série à un ou plusieurs Onduleurs Centraux (Central Inverters). Dans ce cas lorsque une ou plusieurs altérations de panneaux se produisent, tous les panneaux constituant la chaîne PV concernée se mettent à produire au niveau du plus petit dénominateur commun, c'est-à-dire celui du panneau ayant la production d'énergie la plus basse. Étant donné que ces défaillances ne sont pas détectées pendant de longues périodes, elles ne se révèlent souvent qu’à la suite de ce que l’on appelle des «pannes catastrophiques», c’est-à-dire lorsque la production au niveau d’un onduleur est très faible voir arrêtée. Une méthode de détection précoce des défaillances permettrait de repérer et/ou prévoir les performances anormalement faibles, éventuellement de nombreuses années en amont du problème. Dans les cas les plus graves, ces défaillances peuvent entraîner un incendie et l'arrêt de toute une centrale solaire composée de plusieurs dizaines ou centaines de milliers de panneaux solaires.

 

 

 Dans les centrales PV de grande envergure, la «sagesse traditionnelle » affirme que les économies d'échelle autorisent des pertes globales qui ne sont pas détectées ou qui n'affectent que légèrement la performance du système, ne concernant que quelques panneaux solaires parmi des centaines, parfois des milliers, pour des centaines de chaînes PV. Une chaîne PV peut être constituée de 4 à 72 panneaux, parfois plus, mais le plus communément elle se compose de 12, 20, 24 ou 36 panneaux. Ces chaînes peuvent être combinées à leur tour, entre elles, via une boîte de jonction, de telle sorte qu’il n'est pas rare que plusieurs centaines de panneaux soient connectés en série - et ceci avec à l’intérieur de chacun 60, 72 ou 90 cellules solaires connectées elles aussi en série. Même avec l'amélioration des niveaux de performance des panneaux solaires, cela constitue sur deux ou trois décennies un potentiel considérable d'occurrence de fautes, défaillances, altérations, et pannes.


 Localiser avec précision les panneaux défaillants ou imminemment défaillants dans la masse des panneaux solaires sains d’une centrale PV est un défi technique majeur. La difficulté est rendue plus grande encore lorsque plusieurs défaillances sont concomitantes dans une même chaîne ou une même centrale PV. Comme la taille de ces dernières ne cesse d'augmenter, la probabilité de coexistence d’un nombre important de panneaux sous-performants tendra à être systématique à chaque instant. Cette abondance de défauts défie actuellement toutes les méthodes de détection et de localisation dans les centrales PV de grande échelle.

 

 Le scénario contraire est l'impact négatif majeur causé par la perte de performance optimale liée à un ou deux panneaux défaillant sur un petit toit domestique de dix panneaux, par exemple. Ceci peut entraîner une sous-performance de l'ordre de 10% ou 20% par rapport aux capacités prévues du système si les panneaux sont reliés en série. C’est pourquoi, à ce jour, les micro-onduleurs ont été déployés principalement dans des installations domestiques sur les toits d’habitations, sur certains grandes toitures industrielles et sur des ombrières de parking. Les micro-onduleurs sont montés en parallèle et fonctionnent pour maintenir les performances maximales de chaque panneau individuellement, indépendamment de tous les autres.


 Dans un système traditionnel en série, la perte de performance d’un ou de deux panneaux PV et donc d’une ou de deux chaînes PV parmi des centaines ou des milliers est actuellement perçue comme ne suffisant pas à justifier des frais supplémentaires de câblage en parallèle des panneaux afin de surveiller leur performance individuellement, par l'utilisation de micro-onduleurs. Cette vision de l’industrie n’a pas changé depuis la création des centrales PV à grande échelle avec une exploitation sur plusieurs décennies.
Cependant, il faut se demander à l'ère des «Objets Connectés» pourquoi cette approche devrait rester immuable et ne pas être mieux adaptée aux systèmes de surveillance en continu, à plus haute résolution, qui dominent de plus en plus d'autres secteurs industriels pour mieux garantir les niveaux prévus de production d'électricité, la durabilité des systèmes et diminuer l’incertitude pour les investisseurs.

 

 Dans le cas des centrales PVs, les financiers, les propriétaires d'actifs et les développeurs présument que les panneaux solaires dureront de 25 à 30 ans et décident donc de NE PAS assumer au départ le coût supplémentaire de l'installation de micro-onduleurs, à leurs risque et péril.


 « Dans l’ingénierie des systèmes dans tous les secteurs industriels, tant qu’un phénomène n’est pas mesuré dans le temps, les gains d’efficacité en termes d’économie, de production et de qualité de la production ne peuvent être obtenus avec confiance ».


En plus des facteurs donnant lieu aux tassements différentiels dans les centrales PVs sur anciennes décharges (voir LanneSolaire Défi / Centrale PV sur ancienne décharge), les problèmes entourant la fiabilité et la durabilité des panneaux solaires individuels et des cellules PVs doivent être examinés, à savoir une longue liste de causes qui ont un impact négatif sur la production d'énergie solaire des centrales PVs. À ceux-ci, il faut ajouter les problèmes liés au câblage et au dysfonctionnement de l'onduleur central. Les pannes de l'onduleur central peuvent être à l’origine d'un arrêt du système et de pertes importantes dans la production d'électricité jusqu'à ce qu'il soit réparé ou remplacé. Dans les installations PVs à grande échelle ou domestiques, la défaillance de l'onduleur est de loin le type de défaut le plus fréquemment enregistré. De plus, les onduleurs centraux doivent être remplacés régulièrement (tous les 5 à 10 ans) avec un coût élevé par rapport aux autres dépenses d'exploitation et de maintenance pendant la durée de vie du système. Les dépenses à l'installation de la centrale PV liées aux onduleurs centraux et les coûts de remplacement d'un ou de plusieurs onduleurs centraux au cours de la vie de la centrale sont tous évités par un déploiement plus généralisé de micro-onduleurs. Ici, les problèmes liés aux transformateurs, aux contrôleurs de charge ou à la disponibilité globale du générateur photovoltaïque ne seront pas traités.


  Les panneaux photovoltaïques fonctionnent en dessous des niveaux de puissance de sortie optimales en raison de défauts dans les modules, le câblage, l'onduleur, etc. Aujourd'hui, la plupart de ces défauts restent non détectés pendant de longues périodes et entraînent des pertes de production d'énergie. Des techniciens doivent être envoyés sur le terrain pour localiser et réparer les pannes dans une série de chaînes PV. La nécessité d’effectuer des mesures de terrain chronophages dans une ou plusieurs chaînes PVs peut retarder la correction des défauts. Aujourd'hui, la plupart des types de défauts liés aux modules et autres sont détectés, au mieux, tardivement. Il est à noter que: ​ « La durabilité de la centrale & sa fiabilité tout au long de sa vie, sont la clé du retour sur investissement ». Les défauts du générateur photovoltaïque non repérés (et donc non rectifiés) entraînent non seulement des pertes de production d'électricité, mais peuvent également entraîner des problèmes de sécurité et des risques d'incendie aux proportions variables.

figure 1 : Pannes en cascade d’un module PV

 Dans les cas extrêmes, une accumulation excessive de la chaleur peut provoquer des feux aussi bien en contexte domestique qu'industriel dans les grands parcs solaires notamment. Ces feux peuvent être évités via un système "d'arrêt automatique" au niveau du module PV et non au niveau de l'onduleur de chaîne ou de l'onduleur central. La présence de ce système est rendue obligatoire aux États-Unis en situation domestique – mais pas encore en France ou en Europe, par exemple.

Figures 2 : Feux liés à la surchauffe de modules PV en contextes domestique et industriel

 Historiquement, les financiers, les propriétaires d'actifs et les développeurs solaires se sont contenté de présumer la longévité des panneaux solaires à 25 ou 30 ans. Une mise en garde majeure ici est le manque d'un recueil significatif de preuves éprouvant la potentielle longévité des modules solaires in situ sur une durée de 20 ou 30 ans. Ceci est également mis en évidence par l’impossibilité d’obtenir de telles données pour des technologies développées depuis l’an 2000, mais actuellement déployées en masse dans ces centrales PV à grande échelle. Cette vision d’une réalité supposée se reflète dans ce que l’on appelle la «courbe en baignoire». Au cours des 1 à 3 premières années suivant l’installation, les défauts deviennent rapidement évidents en tant que problèmes de fiabilité repérés par une défaillance catastrophique. Par la suite, on observe un taux constant de défaillances liées à l'usure du module se rapprochant de sa fin de vie.  Dans tous les cas, ces défauts doivent engendrer des «défaillances catastrophiques» pour être détectés rapidement dans la chaîne.​ ​ D'autres défauts électriques responsables de sous-performances de production d'électricité peuvent rester «non résolus» ou non détectés pendant de longues périodes.

courbe-baignoire.png
figure 3 : Évolution du taux de pannes au cours du temps

Jusqu'à très récemment, les meilleures données disponibles pour les pannes de modules sur le terrain sont résumées dans la figure suivante (d'après: TamizhMani, GS & Kuitche, J. 2013, Accelerated Lifetime Testing of Photovoltaic Modules, pp 1 - 106. Solar America Board for Codes et normes) et sur la base des ensembles de données disponibles en 2011.

Figure 4 : Problèmes de fiabilité (​pannes) et de durabilité (​dégradations​ ) des modules PV
(FF = "Field Faults" - Défaillances sur le terrain) 

Révélations de 2020 :​ La sagesse traditionnelle et historique / vision de l'industrie susmentionnée peut commencer à être remise en question par de récentes révélations. La société chimique Dupont a publié en 2020 ses résultats sur quelques 551 centrales PVs différentes et 53 fabricants de panneaux PVs différents sur le terrain​ (cf. Dupont global PV reliability - 2020 field analysis). À la grande surprise des spécialistes de l'industrie, des défauts ont été détectés dans 30% des neuf millions de panneaux solaires inspectés au cours de cette étude. Ce chiffre correspond à de graves défauts de «backsheet» (feuille arrière) dans 16% des cas et à des défauts de connexion cellule à cellule dans les 14% des cas restants. Certains propriétaires d’actifs seraient en «mode panique» aujourd’hui, si leurs propres centrales étaient concernées. De plus, les défauts de «backsheet» sont fortement influencés par leur composition chimique. Dans le cas du PVDF (fluorure de polyvinylidène), des défauts de fissuration ont été observés dans 23% des modules solaires après seulement neuf ans sur le terrain, tandis que le PET (polyéthylène téréphtalate) a fait encore pire avec environ 90% des modules présentant des défauts de fissuration après 15 ans - tous bien en avance sur la durée de vie supposée de 25-30 ans pour la fiabilité du module. Ces défauts résultent chronologiquement d'une défaillance de la «feuille de fond» (couche extérieure côté air) donnant lieu à 1) une pénétration d'humidité ; 2) craquelure, délaminage et jaunissement ; 3) corrosion, «points chauds», «traînées d’escargots», marques de brûlure, courts-circuits; et enfin 4) Mise à l’arrêt de l’onduleur, «arrêt» du générateur photovoltaïque (production d’énergie nulle) en raison d’une défaillance catastrophique avancée et de risques de sécurité, y compris d’incendie.

 

Ainsi, une surveillance continue des centrales PV à plus haute résolution peut être vue sous un jour nouveau et de manière plus rentable qu'auparavant. C'est-à-dire de manière à détecter et / ou prédire de telles occurrences beaucoup plus tôt, tout en faisant remplacer simultanément les panneaux PV défectueux par le fabricant, dépense sous garantie.


Le tableau suivant est une tentative d’inventaire des origines des sous-performances des centrales PV - Tableau : ​ Vulnérabilité des panneaux PV et des onduleurs, sous-performance des centrales PV.

Plusieurs détails sur les défauts des générateurs photovoltaïques et une introduction aux stratégies de détection des pannes sont accessibles dans les références suivantes :

 

TamizhMani, G.S. & Kuitche, J. 2013, ​ Accelerated Lifetime Testing of Photovoltaic Modules ​ , pp 1 - 106. Solar America Board for Codes and Standards

Alam, A., Johnson, J., Khan, F. & Flicker, J. 2015. A Comprehensive Review of Catastrophic Faults in PV Arrays: Types, Detection, and Mitigation Techniques. IEEE J. Photovoltaics, doi: 10.1109/JPHOTOV.2015.2397599

Arani, M.S. & Hejazi, M.A. 2016. The Comprehensive Study of Electrical Faults in PV Arrays. J. Electric. Computer Eng. Pp. 1-10, doi : 10.1155./2016/8712960.

 

Lecture supplémentaire :

Bloomberg Tier-1 Solar Panels List: 8 Points of critical failure. (review.solar)