A substantial unmet need:

 In 2019, photovoltaic (PV) developers throughout the world installed 114.9 GW of new solar power, according to statistics from the International Energy Agency (IEA). This represents some 359 million solar modules each year. The PV market size has been estimated at $53.9 bn (USD) for 2018, a figure that is expected to experience (CAGR) of between 4.3% and 25.1% out to 2026.

 

 Reliable figures have only recently become available for the long-term reliability of solar modules in the field. Yet, naively, asset owners and sector investors have been happy to assume life spans of 20-30 years unquestioningly. The reality would suggest otherwise. 

 

 An analysis of 9 million field-placed solar modules (3GW) corresponding to 551 different installations worldwide (“Dupont global PV reliability – 2020 field analysis”) showed that advanced faults could be detected visually  in 30% of these solar panels. These advanced faults should all have been detected years to decades in advance to avoid loss of power-generating capacity. 

 

The abovementioned scenario serves to highlight the need for industry-wide improvements in large-scale Solar Energy Facility (SEF) Operations & Maintenance (O&M): “Systems durability is the product of reliability over lifetime and underwrites investment returns”.

Carence :

D’après l'Agence internationale de l'énergie (AIE), en 2019, les développeurs solaires ont installé 114,9 GW d’énergie photovoltaïque supplémentaire à travers le monde. Cela représente quelques 359 millions de modules photovoltaïques (PV) par an. La taille du marché PV a été estimée à 53,9 milliards de dollars (USD) pour 2018, un chiffre qui devrait connaître un TCAC compris entre 4,3 % et 25,1 % jusqu'en 2026.
 
Des données de terrain fiables sur les modules PV n’ont été publiées que récemment. Pourtant et naïvement, les propriétaires d'actifs et les investisseurs du secteur se contentent de leur présumer une durée de vie de 20 à 30 ans, sans remettre en question ces chiffres. Or, la réalité suggérerait tout autre chose :
 
 Une analyse sur le terrain de 9 millions de modules PV (3GW) appartenant à 551 installations différentes autour du monde Dupont global PV reliability – 2020 field analysis ») a montré que des défauts avancés ont été détectés visuellement pour 30% de ces panneaux solaires. Ces défauts avancés auraient tous dû être détectés des années, voire des décennies auparavant pour éviter la perte de capacité de production d'électricité. 
 
 Le scénario susmentionné met en évidence la nécessité d'améliorer, à l'échelle de l'industrie, l'exploitation et la maintenance (O&M) des installations solaires de grande échelle : "La durabilité d’un système est le résultat de sa fiabilité tout au long de sa vie et garantit le retour sur investissement".